The Cherry Knolls Improvement Association Minutes of a meeting of the board of directors April 11, 2023

A meeting of the board of directors of The Cherry Knolls Improvement Association, a non-profit corporation, was held April 11, 2023 at 7:00 PM MST at Carl Sandberg Elementary School in Centennial, CO.

Board Members Present:			
Dusty Laird	Elizabeth Glenn	Justin Dobson	
Ryan Mueller	Lauren Thompson	Lindsey Blankenship	
Kathleen Matthews			
Board Members Not Present:			
Sarah Keene	Brendan Carroll	Ben Kennedy	
Community Members in Attendance:			
Marc Mandell	Conrad Steller	Mary Hudson	
George Hamilton	Aaron Hilst		

Торіс	Presenter	Discussion
		Call to order: 7:04
		Paint for split rail fence coming in a month.
President Update	Dusty Laird	Elicit advertisements to newsletter – requested community participation for sales.
		Report went through 3/31/23.
Treasurer's Report	Liz Glenn	Treasurer opined that CKIA does not have the money to complete the Nobles & Arapahoe project in light of remaining bills, prior commitments for Elizabeth water tap, and assuming remaining dues that we will likely get. Total dues collected: \$47,800 with \$18,920 for perimeter improvement. Treasurer

Social	Lindsey Blankenship	 acknowledged there is additional revenue that has not been deposited. Treasurer recommends that we do the Nobles and Arapahoe project in phases. Phase 1 and 2 went to a vote to appropriate funds to the long range planning committee. Additional recommendation: in addition to the operating reserves, treasurer recommends creating a fund to replace the perimeter fence. Conrad: The monument will be completed by the end of July. President: President requests second dues letter out by the beginning of next month at the latest. Next events: The garage sale: May 5-6. Dumpster Day: May 7. CKIA/Pool Event: craft fair and talent show: Unofficial official start to the summer - May 20 at Cherry Field 1-4pm
		 5. Kids Craft Fair/Talent Show: CKIA/Pool Event August 12
Architectural Control	Lauren Thompson	RV's cannot be parked on the street. Owners who park their RV's on the street in violation of the covenants will receive a notice to move the RV.
Long Range Planning Committee	Kathleen Matthews	Phase 3 fundraising committee formed to continue raising money for Nobles and Arapahoe.

CenCon	Kathleen Matthews	. Fire station 15, which covers cherry knolls, being torn down and rebuilding at fire station 15. Fire Station 14 will be covering Cherry Knolls while fire station 15 is under construction.
--------	-------------------	--

		Legislation introduced at the state level with intent of addressing housing costs, however the end result of the bill as currently drafted would allow duplexes or fourplexes to be built in every part of Cherry Knolls. George stated it would change the image of Cherry Knolls.
Senate Bill 23-213 House Bill 23-1255 "Covenant Community" to be taken off the monument.	Community Discussion Community Comment Kathleen Matthews	A "covenant community" on the signs: Dusty indicated he would like "a covenant community" removed from the signage and monuments. Lauren proposed to change the language to "a covenant protected community." Lauren suggested it should be an item that is on the agenda. The matter went to a vote.
Votes		 Nobles & Arapahoe Phase 1: Up to \$35,000 for construction of the monument: Unanimous vote to approve. Nobles & Arapahoe Phase 2: Up to \$45,000 for the water pump Unanimous vote to approve. Elizabeth monument design: Vote to be done by email amongst the board members. Signage: "a covenant community": In order to save \$3,000.00 on construction fees of the new monument at Nobles & Arapahoe, the board voted unanimously to proceed with construction of the new monument without "a covenant community" displayed.

Adjournment	Dusty Laird	8:40PM MST

Officers

President – Dusty Laird

VP – Brendan Carroll

Secretary – Ben Kennedy

Treasurer – Elizabeth Glenn Board Meeting Email Addresses: Brendan Carroll <u>Brendancarroll0504@gmail.com</u> Dusty Laird, President <u>dustylaird@gmail.com</u> Justin Dobson <u>whitepointer1@hotmail.com</u> Sarah Keene <u>Skeene@dealerinspire.com</u> Laruen Thompson <u>lauren.mosse@gmail.com</u> Ryan Mueller <u>ryanstevenmueller@gmail.com</u> Lindsey Blankenship <u>Lsiegs29@gmail.com</u> Ben Kennedy <u>Benjamin.t.kennedy@hotmail.com</u> Elizabeth Glenn <u>elizabethglenn85@gmail.com</u> Kathleen Matthews <u>kmathe@comcast.net</u>

Minutes submitted by Secretary, Ben Kennedy